Birth of Guru Hargobind

Guru Hargobind was the sixth of ten Enlightened Masters who founded the Sikh faith through the sharing of divine guidance. The first of these honoured teachers, Guru Nanak, was born in 1469; and the life of Guru Gobind Singh, the tenth Guru, ended in 1708.

 The holiest scripture of Sikhism is known as Guru Granth Sahib and is the only world scripture to have been created during the lifetime of its compiler, the fifth Sikh Guru, Guru Arjan Dev. It is considered, like all honoured Gurus, to be an eternal source of guidance, wisdom and learning.

Sikhism is based on the belief of One God and the equality of all human beings. The five major virtues underpinning the faith are Chastity, Patience, Contentment, Detachment and Humility.